Me and My foot

In game, people have been asking about my recent hospital stay. I am posting this in response.

A little over 2 weeks ago I was making my first visit to my new Doctor, I was changing because I was interested in being treated as a person instead of as an annoyance which is how the old doctor office made me feel. My provider was great but that was where it stopped. It took me almost 9 months of waiting for the new doctor had an opening for new patients.

flash back 3 days from this first visit

I woke up with my foot hurting like you wouldn’t believe. I pulled the sheet off and found a sort just behind the big toe on my left foot. It was open, draining puss and blood both and stunk. It was not there the night before.

We tried treating it with peroxide but in three days it grow from the size of a dime to 3 x 2 centimeters and 1.1 centimeters deep. Never in my life have I experienced pain like this. We covered it with some Kerlix sponges and then wrapped it in an entire roll of kerlix and off I went to the 11am doctor appointment.

They took me back and I told them about the sore and the medical assistant unwrapped it and the wrapping was already soaked with drainage and blood. She did the history and typical workup and said the doctor would be right in. Much to my pleasant surprise, he was. šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚

He introduce himself, we shook hands and he looked down at my foot and tells me that I need to be checked into the hospital and have immediate surgery. I am pretty sure my mouth hit the floor at this point.

Over the next 20 minutes he had his partner come in and verify what I needed. The MA came in to re-wrap my foot and ask some questions. The clinical coordinator was on the phone to register me for a bed. The doctor was calling the surgeon and his partner was calling the resident on duty in charge of admissions. WOW…

They let me go home to tell the family and within an hour I was checking in at Bronson Hospital. I will write part 2 later today or in the morning.

Leave a Reply

